Chris Barbic

Founder, YES Prep

The founder of Houston’s YES Prep, Chris Barbic, is the first charter leader recipient of the TCSA Charter Champion Award. YES (Youth Engaged in Service) Prep serves over 4,500 students in 6th- 12th grades and has been consistently ranked as one of Houston’s best high schools. U.S. News & World Report also ranked YES Prep in the top 100 public high schools in America. For the 10th consecutive year, 100% of YES Prep’s graduating seniors have been accepted into four-year colleges, including Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Rice, Stanford, Texas A&M, and the University of Texas at Austin.

Chris Barbic is a founding board member of TCSA. He resigned his position on the TCSA board and YES Prep this past June to accept the position of Superintendent of the Achievement School District (ASD). ASD is a newly formed district comprised of existing public schools in Tennessee’s Race to the Top award-winning grant. The ASD schools are selected from the U.S. Department of Education’s Persistently Lowest Achieving status and the 5% lowest performing schools in Tennessee’s accountability system. Texas’s loss is clearly Tennessee’s gain.



State Senator Florence Shapiro

District 8

Senator Florence Shapiro is this year’s “Charter Champion” for sponsoring the most significant charter legislation in almost a decade, the Permanent School Fund (PSF) legislation during the 82nd Legislative Session. The new law allows financially sound charter schools to have access to the Permanent School Fund bond guarantee which helps us construct and renovate our buildings at a lower cost. Her strong leadership made the PSF bill a reality during a special legislative session called around school funding and efficiency. The legislation will save charter schools and taxpayers millions of dollars every year and directly impact student improvement.